• Contact Us


GCSE AQA History
At GCSE we follow the AQA specification. There are two exam papers that cover units on medieval, early modern and modern History. These exams are taken at the end of the two year course.
Paper 1: Understanding the modern world 
Section A: Period studies 
1B Germany, 1890–1945: Democracy and dictatorship
Section B: Wider world depth studies
Conflict and tension, 1918–1939
Paper 2: Shaping the nation
Section A: Thematic studies
2C Britain: Migration, empires and the people: c790 to the present day
Section B: British depth studies including the historic environment
Elizabethan England, c1568–1603
Assessment: 2 x1 hour 45 minute written exam papers 
A Level History
At A Level will also follow the AQA specification.
Students study a total of 3 units over the course of the two years
An overview study.
1C The Tudors: England, 1485–1603
This involves the study of significant historical developments over a period of around 50 years and associated historical interpretations.
And a depth study
2H France in Revolution, 1774–1815
This involves the study in depth of a major historical change or development and associated primary evidence
The final component of the A Level is a Historical investigation or a personal study on Britain between 1840-1940.
2 x2 hour 30 minute written exams
1 x coursework/ Historical investigation